Peak Forage Products


Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Evers, Kaul Edge Out GOP Opponents in Close Election
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 11/07/2018

Though the so-called 'blue wave' wasn't as prevalent nationally, Democrats came out on top of the major statewide races in Wisconsin on Tuesday. Election totals indicate that School Superintendent Tony Evers defeated Gov. Scott Walker in one of the closest gubernatorial elections in a generation.

"For the past 14 months, so many of you invited me into your homes and businesses," Evers said in his acceptance speech. "It's time for a change, folks. Now that the race is behind us, I look forward to moving forward together."

Lt. Gov. Rebecca Kleefisch addressed Republican supporters early Wednesday morning, saying she and Governor Walker were grateful for those who supported them and that they may be requesting a recount.

In another major upset, Republican Attorney General Brad Schimel was defeated by his Democratic challenger Josh Kaul by a razor-thin margin. And U.S. Senator Tammy Baldwin easily won re-election by beating out Leah Vukmir.

All of Wisconsin's Congressional incumbents were voted back into office on Tuesday. Voters re-elected Republican Reps. Jim Sensenbrenner, Glenn Grothman, Sean Duffy, and Mike Gallagher; along with Democrats Ron Kind and Gwen Moore. In District 1, Republican Bryan Steil defeated Democrat Randy Bryce to replace House Speaker Paul Ryan, who announced earlier this year he would step down from office after his current term.

In the Legislature, Republicans continue to hold the majority in the Assembly by a 50 to 33 margin, as well as the Senate by an 18 to 15 ratio. The only change in State Senate party control was in District 1, where Republican Assemblyman Andre Jacque defeated Democratic incumbent Caleb Frostman, who filled the seat upon the resignation of Frank Lasee earlier this year. The GOP has controlled both houses of the Legislature since 2011.

Meanwhile, party leaders will choose new committee assignments early next year. The make up of legislative agricultural committees will look different as Assembly Ag Committee Chair Lee Nerison and Senate Ag Committee Chair Terry Moulton both announced they would retire in January, along with Assembly Ag Committee member Ed Brooks.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
LaForage Systems
Meyer Manufacturing
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.