Steinhart's Farm Service

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
All Incumbent DFW Directors Retain Seats on Milk Board
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 06/08/2018

The make up of the group formerly known as the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board will not look much different, despite the fact that three of its directors were facing challengers in a recent mail-in ballot election. The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture announced that District 5 Incumbent Kay Zwald of Hammond defeated challenger Rachel Kummer from Mondovi for her seat on the Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin board of directors; while Patricia Kling, Taylor, who faced Louisa Peterson of Bangor in District 14, also retained her seat. In a four-way contest in District 23, Jay Stauffacher from Darlington was re-elected after beating out Deborah Nelson, Arena; Jerry Zander, Barneveld; and Brenda Yager, Highland.

Some districts will have new representation, however. In District 11, Mike Verhasselt of Kaukauna was the only producer nominated to replace retiring director Chris Vanden from Elzen. And Julie Maurer, Newton, was the lone-nominee to take over long-time director Rosalie Geiger's District 17 seat, as she is stepping down.

The remaining incumbents who did not face opposition this year were Connie Seefeldt, Coleman (District 2); Steve Sternweis, Marshfield (District 8); and Sharon Laubscher, Wonewoc (District 20).

Each year one-third of the board's 25 seats are up for grabs. As directors, the board members supervise the dairy check-off's business affairs, formulate and set policies, and serve on one various committees.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture says of the 2,589 producers eligible to vote in the affected districts, only 13-percent returned ballots within the election period.

The directors will begin their next three-year terms on July 1.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
LaForage Systems
E-Z Trail Farm Wagons
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.