McFarlane Implement

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Walker Uses Farm Show to Announce Dairy Task Force
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 07/12/2018

Gov. Scott Walker made a stop at the state's largest agricultural event to announce the names of his newly-created Wisconsin Dairy Task Force 2.0. On Wednesday, the governor encouraged attendees of Wisconsin Farm Technology Days near Marshfield to continue pushing ahead, despite the suppressed farm economy. He also unveiled the list of stakeholders that will make recommendations on actions needed to maintain a viable and profitable dairy industry.

"The members of Wisconsin Dairy Task Force 2.0 reflect the breadth and depth of the Wisconsin dairy industry," Walker said. "From dairy farmers to milk processors to allied organizations, the Task Force stands ready to discuss and recommend actions that will ensure our state's proud dairy heritage remains strong moving forward."

Last month, the governor asked State Agriculture Secretary Sheila Harsdorf and UW System President Ray Cross to appoint members of the task force. It's called 2.0 because a similar group was assembled back in 1985.

The Wisconsin Dairy Task Force 2.0 members include:


Moriah Brey, Brey Cycle Farm LLC, Sturgeon Bay
Andy Buttles, Stone-Front Farm, Lancaster
Janet Clark, Vision Aire Farms, LLC, Rosendale
Tom Crosby, Crosby’s River Valley Dairy, Shell Lake
Dave Daniels, Mighty Grand Dairy, Union Grove
Patty Edelburg, Front-Page Holsteins, Scandinavia
Don Hamm, Sandy Loam Farm, Fredonia
Ryan Klussendorf, Broadland Grass Farm, Medford
Shelly Mayer, Mayer Farm, Slinger
Dan Pearson, Pearson Farm, River Falls
Amy Penterman, Dutch Dairy, Thorp
Brody Stapel, Double Dutch Dairy, Cedar Grove
Charles Untz, Untz Farm, Lake Mills
Darin Von Ruden, Von Ruden Farm, Westby

Milk Processors and Marketers:

Steve Bechel, Eau Galle Cheese Factory, Durand
Dave Buholzer, Klondike Cheese Company, Monroe
Rob Byrne, Schreiber Foods, Green Bay
Ted Galloway, Galloway Company, Neenah
Paul Scharfman, Specialty Cheese Company, Reeseville
Jerry Schroeder, Schroeder Milk Transit, Oconto Falls
Jeff Schwager, Sartori Cheese, Plymouth
David Ward, Cooperative Network, Madison
Elizabeth Wells, Organic Valley, La Farge

Allied Organizations:

John Accola, Premier Cooperative, Prairie du Sac
Dennis Bangart, AgCountry Farm Credit Services, Marshfield
Michael DeLong, First Bank of Baldwin, Baldwin
Bradley Guse, BMO Harris Bank, Arpin
Melissa Haag, Lodi Veterinary Hospital, Lodi
Rene Johnson, Union Bank and Trust Co., Evansville
John Schmidt, Landmark Services Cooperative, Appleton
Chad Vincent, Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin, Madison

Dr. Mark Stephenson, Director of Dairy Policy Analysis at UW-Madison, will chair the task force. The group's first meeting has been scheduled in August.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Ag-Bag Plastic
Zabel Equipment
Copyright © 2019 - All Rights Reserved.