Cropping Central LLC


Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Fourteen Producers Running for Eight Seats in DFW Election
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 04/16/2019

The make up of the group formerly known as the Wisconsin Milk Marketing Board could possibly look a little different once this year's district director elections are complete. This year, seven of the eight incumbents in eligible districts have been re-nominated for their positions on the Dairy Farmers of Wisconsin board, with four of them facing challengers. There will also be at least one newcomer on the board representing a district where the current director is stepping down.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture says Jaclyn Backhaus, Boyd; and Douglas Danielson, Cadott, are looking to replace Vivian Thompson from Cadott, who is retiring from the board in Distrct 6.

In District 9, Donald Robaidek of Pulaski is challenging incumbent Jeff Strassburg, Wittenberg; while Steve Pankrats is looking to unseat longtime director Ken Heiman in District 12. They are both from Marshfield. Incumbent Kevin Wallaser from Desoto in District 21 will face Gail Klinkner, Viroqua; and Danika Wehling, Westby. And in District 24, Vigil Haag, Mount Horeb, is running against Incumbent Tina Hinchley from Cambridge.

The remaining incumbents not facing opposition this year include Mark Leder, Gleason (District 3); Mary Cook, Wilton (District 15); and Dean Strauss, Sheboygan Falls (District 18).

Each year one-third of the board's 25 seats are selected. As directors, the board members supervise the dairy check-off's business affairs, formulate and set policies, and serve on one various committees.

Election coordinators say all eligible voters mush return their ballots to DATCP by May 24. Dairy producers who do not receive a ballot by May 10 should call 608-224-5116.

Elected producers will serve three-year terms beginning July 1.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
International Protein Sires
Indiana Berry
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.