Podevels Farm Service

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
More Farmland to be Added as Ag Enterprise Areas
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 01/25/2022

Two more agricultural enterprise areas totaling more than 31,000 acres have been designated by the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture. The new AEAs are located in Buffalo and Douglas Counties.

Wisconsin will have a total of 45 agricultural enterprise areas, or AEAs, in 30 counties totaling more than 1.5 million acres.

AEAs may be created or expanded when at least five landowners, in partnership with local governments, petition the DATCP for the designation. They are part of Wisconsin's farmland preservation program, intended to encourage preservation of agricultural land use and to promote agricultural economic development appropriate to each area.

Landowners outside designated AEAs who want to participate should work with their neighbors and local governments to petition for AEA status.

This is the twelfth round of AEA designations.

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Sheah Auguers/SD Ellenbecker
Copyright © 2022 - Farms.com. All Rights Reserved.