Peak Forage Products

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Wisconsin Outstanding Young Farmer Finalists Named
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 12/17/2018

Fifteen producers will compete to become the winner of the 2019 Outstanding Young Farmer Award next month. Organizers say a special awards weekend is being planned for January 25-27 at the Comfort Suites of Johnson Creek, where the candidates will be interviewed, tested and evaluated by a panel of judges.

The public is invited to an awards banquet on Saturday night, starting with a social hour at 6:00 p.m. Past OYF participants will also have a reception the same evening to celebrate the 66th year of OYF in Wisconsin. And a 'Speak up for Agriculture' award winner will be named.

The group of candidates will spend part of the weekend touring local farms and businesses.

This year's nominees include Ryan and Tasha Schleis, Kewaunee; Tony and Katie Mellenthin, Eau Galle; Scott Laeser and Chelsea Chandler, Argyle; Brody and Carolyn Stapel, Cedar Grove; Mark and Cari Stoltz, Muscoda; John and Holly White, Edgar; Adan and Christina Seibel, Bloomer; and Evan Hillan, Ladysmith.

Winners are selected based on progress in their agricultural career, soil and water conservation and contributions to community, state and nation.

Meanwhile, last year's state winner, Andy Fisher of Reedsville, was recently named as top 10 finalists for the National OYF competition, slated for February 7-10 in the Quad Cities.

The Wisconsin OYF program was developed in 1954 to recognize the younger generation of successful agriculturists in the state. Farmers younger than 40 years of age who derive at least two-thirds of their income from farming are eligible to apply for the annual award.

For more information or to register for the event, call 715-833-9649 or go to:

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Hixwood Metal
Indiana Berry
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.