MPB Builders

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Holte Re-Elected Wisconsin Farm Bureau President
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 12/04/2018

Elk Mound beef producer Jim Holte has been re-elected president of the state's largest farm organization. On Monday, directors at the 99th Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation's annual meeting in Wisconsin Dells voted to give Holte a seventh term in office.

A WFBF board member since 1995, Holte raises beef cattle and grows corn, soybeans and alfalfa on 460 acres of land in Dunn County. Throughout his years on the board, he has served as the Farm Bureau's representative to the Wisconsin Livestock Identification Consortium board. He also chaired the Wisconsin Livestock Siting Review board; is a past president of the Wisconsin Beef Council and is a former member of the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture board. He was elected to the American Farm Bureau Federation's board of directors in 2014.

Also this week, Kevin Krentz of Berlin was elected vice president and re-elected to a three-year term on the board, along with Dave Daniels from Union Grove and Robert Nigh of Viroqua.

Andrea Brossard of Burnett was re-elected as the chair of the Promotion and Education Committee. And Julie Wadzinski from Rice Lake will serve a year-long term as chair of the Young Farmer and Agriculturist Committee.

Meanwhile, the WFBF presented its Distinguished Service to Farm Bureau Award to former WFBF Chief Administrative Officer Roger Cliff for his contributions to Wisconsin's agricultural industry. A native of Lancaster, Cliff majored in political science at the University of Wisconsin-Platteville and started his career with the Farm Bureau in 1973 as a lobbyist. During his career, Roger worked with eight governors and hundreds of legislators to shape agricultural policy. He served on a committee charged with rewriting the state's eminent domain laws and was instrumental in the formation of WFBF's political action committee, the Volunteers for Agriculture. He retired from the farm group in 2013.

And Don Meyer from Sauk County was given the Distinguished Service to Wisconsin Agriculture Award. He has been an active member of Farm Bureau since 2000 and served in key leadership roles at the county level. He was instrumental in starting a Sauk County Farm Bureau Ag in the Classroom program by reaching out to teachers with their Taste of Sauk County event. In addition to his involvement in Farm Bureau, he served as a past state FFA officer and on the Tri-State Breeders board.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Easy Way Cattle Care
Osseo Plastics
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.