Bar H Implement

Wisconsin Ag News Headlines
Emergency Loans Offered for Farmers Impacted by April Blizzard
Wisconsin Ag Connection - 06/08/2018

Governor Scott Walker announced that farmers in 52 Wisconsin counties may qualify for emergency loans from the USDA to help with losses sustained in the mid-April blizzard.

The disaster designation by the Farm Service Agency means that low-interest emergency loans are available to farmers who had severe physical losses from snow and high winds during the April 13-15 storm.

"Wisconsin's farmers are a key part of our state's economy, our history, and our future," Gov. Walker said. "We're happy to announce that new resources may be available for farmers to help them overcome the damages from April's snow storms. We are always listening to the needs of our farmers and look forward to working with them in the future to support our farming industry."

Counties included in the disaster designation are: Barron, Brown, Burnett, Door, Dunn, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Jackson, Kewaunee, La Crosse, Marinette, Monroe, Oconto, Outagamie, Polk, Portage, Rusk, Sawyer, Shawano, Trempealeau, Washburn, Waupaca and Wood.

Meanwhile, eligible farmers in counties bordering the disaster counties may also receive loans. They include Adams, Ashland, Bayfield, Buffalo, Calumet, Chippewa, Clark, Columbia, Dodge, Douglas, Eau Claire, Florence, Forest, Juneau, Langlade, Manitowoc, Marathon, Marquette, Menominee, Pepin, Pierce, Price, St. Croix, Sheboygan, Taylor, Vernon, Washington, Waushara and Winnebago Counties.

Farmers have eight months to contact their local FSA office to apply for the loans.

Send this article to a friend

Other Wisconsin Headlines
Machinery Pete
Kelly Manufacturing
Copyright 2019 - All Rights Reserved.